My Story

I watched a pretty disturbing documentary called Food Inc. this past weekend and it really made me think about where I’m getting my food from. Although this is not a blog about food, I do buy a lot of food every week so it is worth mentioning. After watching the documentary I told myself I needed to make a better effort to shop at places that believe in getting high quality food from high quality farmers and at all costs avoid the food that comes from exploited famers and animals. I ended up going to Whole Foods this week and I was very skeptical at first because they are notorious with having high prices. It turns out I spent $20 less than I did the previous week at Safeway.

At Whole Foods I got two cartons of chocolate almond milk, one and half dozen eggs, six boneless skinless chicken breasts, four pork chops, and 4 chicken sausages. All of this only cost me $43! I was so relieved that I could shop at Whole Foods and get what I needed for about the same price as an average Safeway trip (last weeks $66 dollar trip was not normal). What made it even better is the fact that I bought food that is better for my body and will help me more on the field.

As you know, I have been doing a lot of golfing lately and the expenses are starting to add up. In the month of April, because it is my birthday month and my first month with my new clubs, I haven’t really budgeted my golfing nearly as well as I should have, and I have paid for this by having to go into my savings. Starting in May, I plan on budgeting no more than $100 on golf each month. This summer we will be getting more money than we have in the past and that will help. Last summer I took our a small loan because I did not have the time to work. This summer I will do the same even though we are getting more money than we have in the past. This will be my last summer in college and I want to make sure I can enjoy it. I don’t think paying off the small amount of loans I will have after leaving college on a full-ride scholarship will be that hard to pay off.

Follow me on Twitter @JordanHanson92

Leave a comment